Let’s Not Forget…

There are so many things going on in the world today. There are blessings each & every day, even if at times we have to look for them. There are also a lot of things that are not so good & in fact, some of which are horrific. It can be overwhelming to think of all the things that need our attention and action.

It is crucial that we not forget about the children who are being abused (physically / sexually) and/or neglected. Children are being molested, raped & sexually exploited every single day.

In the big picture, the crime of child sexual abuse is just one of many things that we need to concern ourselves with. However, I believe whole heartedly that children are not only our future, but the most innocent of victims. And it is our responsibility as adults to remember that and to take action.

As you go about your day, your week & life, I ask that you please remember the children. Take the time to think about what you can do to make a difference in the lives of children. Ask yourself…what can I do to raise awareness on the crime of child sexual abuse, aid in the prevention of this crime and/or to help those who are victims of childhood sexual abuse? Children and Survivors of childhood sexual abuse deserve no less from us.

EVERY ONE CHILD MATTERS!

I’d love to hear your thoughts. Thank you for your time.

~Susan Suafoa-Dinino, President/Founder, SpeakingOut against Child Sexual Abuse, Inc.

2 thoughts on “Let’s Not Forget…

  1. As a boy with autism spectrum disorder, ACEs and high sensitivity (all of which is still not formally diagnosed) thus admittedly not always easy to deal with, the first and most formidable authority-figure abuser with whom I was terrifyingly trapped was my Grade 2 teacher, Mrs. Carol, in the early 1970s.

    Although I can’t recall her abuse against me in its entirety, I’ll nevertheless always remember how she had the immoral audacity — and especially the unethical confidence in avoiding any professional repercussions — to blatantly readily aim and fire her knee towards my groin, as I was backed up against the school hall wall. Fortunately, though, she missed her mark, instead hitting the top of my left leg.

    While there were other terrible teachers, for me she was uniquely traumatizing, especially when she wore her dark sunglasses when dealing with me.

    I didn’t tell anyone about my ordeal with her. Rather than consciously feel victimized, I felt some misplaced shame. And as each grade passed, I increasingly noticed how all recipients of corporeal handling/abuse in my school were boys; and I had reasoned thus normalized to myself that it was because men can take care of themselves and boys are basically little men.

    For some other (albeit likely NT) students back then and there, however, there was Mrs. Carol’s sole Grade 2 counterpart, Mrs. Clemens — similarly abusive but with the additional bizarre, scary attribute of her eyes abruptly shifting side to side. Not surprising, the pair were quite friendly with each other. It was rumored the latter teacher had a heroin addiction, though I don’t recall hearing of any solid proof of that.

    I remember one fellow second-grader’s mother going door to door in my part of town seeking out any other case of a student who, like her son, had been assaulted by that teacher. … I just stood there, silently, as my astonished mother conversed with the woman while unaware of my own nightmare-teacher experiences.

    Like

    • Thank you for reaching out. I am so very sorry to hear of the abuse you endured as a child. It still breaks my heart each & every time I hear of yet another survivor of childhood sexual abuse. It still sickens me that anyone would sexually violate a child. And as the Mother of a male adult survivor, it breaks my heart to hear the horrific secret & misplaced shame you’ve dealt with. My little boy did eventually tell me what was happening to him (he was only 6 at the time when he disclosed), but then the battle began with a broken system that is supposed to protect children. I truly hope you are on the path to healing. If you are not already connected with others who have been through what you went through, please consider getting connected. There is power and healing in that. Again, thank you for reaching out. ~Susan Suafoa-Dinino, President/Founder, SpeakingOut against Child Sexual Abuse Inc.

      Like

Leave a comment